Indiana University
  •  
  •  
  •  

In IU Webmail, how do I delete messages?

Important: UITS will retire the Cyrus (Webmail) service on February 2, 2015. New users cannot create Cyrus accounts; current users are not affected at this time. For more, see About the Cyrus (Webmail) retirement and At IU, how do I move my Cyrus (Webmail) account to Exchange?

To delete a message in IU Webmail:

  1. Mark one or more messages as deleted:

    • While reading a message, at the upper left of the screen, click Delete. The message you were reading will be marked as deleted, and the next message in the list will then be displayed. To return to the list of messages, in the header bar at the top of the screen, click Inbox.
    • While in the list of messages, to mark multiple messages for deletion, check the box next to each message you wish to delete. Then, immediately above or below the column of checkboxes, click Delete.

  2. The messages will still appear in your Inbox listing, but each will have a line through it to indicate that you have marked it for deletion.

    To remove the deletion mark from a message, check the box to the left of the message you wish to save, and then, immediately above or below the column of checkboxes, click Undelete.

  3. To remove the marked messages from your account, on the right side of the screen, click Purge Deleted. This will permanently remove the messages from your Inbox listing and from your account.

Note: When you transfer a message from your Inbox to another folder, it will still appear in your Inbox listing, marked as deleted as in the steps above. In this case, when you click Purge Deleted, the message will only be removed from your Inbox and placed in the other folder. It will not be completely deleted from your account.