Skip to main content
IT Education & Community Support

Education Certification (EdCert)

EdCert aims to elevate the technical skill set and credentials of IU's departmental computing support staff and the IU community.
IT Pros installing supercomputer at IU Data Center in Bloomington

About EdCert

EdCert, or Education Certification, is a UITS initiative aimed at elevating the level of expertise in departmental computing support and building a solid technical infrastructure at Indiana University. The EdCert Program offers advanced technical training to IT Pros, currently enrolled IU students, and faculty who teach advanced technical skills in their courses. Topics include Microsoft Windows, Unix system administration, and Windows and Unix Security, among others.

Most EdCert classes require a prerequisite course or fundamental knowledge of core basic computing skills. EdCert classes have different fees depending on course length; most EdCert courses are five days long.

Have questions? Email

Current course offerings

Microsoft and CompTIA EdCert classes are designed for computing support providers registered with UITS as IT Pros. The Windows classes use Microsoft Official Curriculum (MOC) and are taught by Microsoft Certified Trainers (MCTs). CompTIA classes are taught using CompTIA Approved Courseware by CompTIA Certified Trainers.
Learn more

Upcoming courses

All courses are taught online only and meet from 9am to 4pm Eastern Time.

Professional certification

The EdCert program provides you the opportunity to earn a professional credential that has value in the marketplace by passing an industry-standard certification exam. Certification indicates industry-recognized evidence of successful completion of an assessment that appraises level of knowledge on a given vendor’s topic, server, client, or application. The process is unique to each vendor. Some offer online proctored exam delivery that can be administered in a home or office location. Information on pursuing certification is addressed in each EdCert course.

Microsoft has certification paths for many technical job roles. Each of these certifications consists of passing a series of exams to earn certification. Microsoft certifications are organized into three levels: fundamental, associate, and expert. Demonstrate your achievements through industry-recognized Microsoft certifications.

Learn more about Microsoft certifications

CertNexus is the global purveyor of vendor-neutral, emerging technology certifications and micro-credentials for IT, business, and security professionals. CertNexus’s current portfolio of certifications addresses the high-stakes skills needed in cybersecurity and IoT across government and enterprise entities.

EdCert training supports pursuit of Cyber Secure Coder (CSC) certification, the comprehensive certification for validating secure coding practices, for all developers, in all programming languages, on all platforms.

Learn more about CertNexus certifications

CompTIA has four IT certification series that test different knowledge standards, from entry-level to expert. Certifications align with IT infrastructure and cybersecurity career paths, with each added certification representing a deepening of your expertise. Core certifications, like CompTIA A+, lay the groundwork for specialized pathway certifications, and additional professional certifications cover necessary IT skills like project management.

Learn more about CompTIA certifications

(ISC)² has a broad portfolio of accredited information security certifications that allow you to prove your expertise and highlight your skill mastery. (ISC)² created and maintains the Common Body of Knowledge (CBK) on which the certifications are based. The CBK defines global industry standards and best practices in information security.

EdCert training supports pursuit of becoming a CISSP—Certified Information Systems Security Professional. To qualify for this cybersecurity certification, you must pass the exam and have at least five years of cumulative, paid work experience in two or more of the eight domains of the (ISC)² CISSP CBK.

Learn more about (ISC)² Information Security certifications

Find the help you need

Have technology questions? We're here to help.